St. Peter’s Church, Dixton is nestled in a quiet spot on the banks of the River Wye, on the outskirts of Monmouth.
The present building dates back to the 11th Century but it is thought that people were worshipping on this site long before that. It was originally dedicated to St. Tadioc, an early Celtic saint, and later to St. Mary Magdalene before it became St. Peter’s.
The building consists of a tower, nave and chancel with barrel vaulting and very thick stone walls – please download our short history book for more information. Inside there is a patch of exposed Saxon herringbone stonework on the north wall and there are brass markers on the chancel arch showing the depth of the floods (floods are only recorded over 3 feet deep).
There is a Royal Arms of Queen Anne panel on the north wall and two panels showing the Lord’s Prayer and the Ten Commandments on the south wall.
At the back there is a modern carved oak gallery, where the organ can be stored safe from the floods. In the porch there is a relief of St. Peter’s crucifixion upside down and opposite, a list of all the vicars since 1257 and children are always thrilled to see ‘William, an alien’. The reredos behind the altar was carved by Belgian refugees during WW1.
In the churchyard, the preaching cross is a listed monument and on the south wall there is a leper’s bench. There are a number of beautiful specimen trees.
St Peters’ Church,